Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

memories

I set up some memories on my 6400M but they don't do what I want. When I switch bands using memories the antenna does not follow. So switching from 40m (dipole) to 20m (beam) I get the 20m freq but with the 40m antenna. Seems that the antenna should be saved with each memory. That's the way it works on my other radios. I guess I must use general profiles to switch band/antenna combinations.

Then why use memories? It is the same number of key clicks to recall a profile as to recall a memory, and the profile supplies more info to the radio.

I know I'm missing something, but what is it? Be gentle, I'm new to this Flex world and trying to learn.

Fred, K0FG

Comments

• Neil D Friedman N3DF
    Neil D Friedman N3DF Member ✭✭✭✭

The manual says the memories feature, with its small number of parameters (in comparison with the profiles feature), is optimized for FM.

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

Hi Fred, I agree. I have 2 profiles set for every band, one for CW and one for SSB. On two meters, I have an additional one for FM.

I have a bunch of repeaters in memory, but I have to hit the 2 meter FM profile first or I won't be on the XVTR ant. I also have some HF net frequencies in memory, and have to be sure to set the appropriate profile before I select a memory.

The addition of transmit and receive antenna in the memories would be very helpful.