Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex 6500 TX output power

Options
Hi,

I am relatively new to Flex. I have owned a 6500 for only a few months. (and loving it)
I seem to remember that it showed 100w TX output power originally, but now it never goes above 75-80 max. The RF power slider goes up to 100.
I tried it with a dummy load in ANT2 port and got much the same, so I don't think it is the antennas or poor swr causing the power drop. The SWR is generally quite low, about 1.1-1.2

I found a similar discussion on here, and downloaded the Flex Meter v1.1 software and it shows PA Temp of about 56c on TX after 10 seconds, and then drops back to around 38 after 10 minutes. I'm now guessing that it could be reducing output power based on temperature? Or maybe the output device has overheated at some point and now running below expected performance?
Any ideas or suggestions welcome.

M0MDS

Answers

• Larry _ NY8T
    Larry _ NY8T Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2021
    Options

I would be looking at your DC voltage, make sure its stable (13.8) on idle and transmit at the radio also check the DC power pole connector at the back of the radio, itcan get oxidation on it and cause the voltage that the radio sees drop.

• VE7ATJ_Don
    VE7ATJ_Don Member ✭✭✭
    Options

hmmmm... 56C seems a bit high for the finals, and it could be that your fan is kicking into high speed to try to reduce that a bit. I think there's also heat-protection circuitry in the 6500 which will reduce output power to keep the temperature down.