Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

DAX TX often "plops" using digital modes

rickd
rickd Member ✭✭
edited October 2021 in DAX
Im fairly new to the flex, so i might be doing something wrong here.
During TX with JTDX I can see sometimes that the signal uses the full bandwidth (see screenshot).
Im still being received ok, but when I listen to my signal i can hear the "plop" in the audio signal.
Im using a Mac book pro, i9/32gb ram. Smart SDR for Mac version 1.9.14 (124).
For audio im using loopback, but i have tried soundflower as well.

What I have tried:
- play around with the audio output from JTDX
- play around with the gain in DAX
- used a different mac book (but essentially same software setup)

When I monitor the audio using loopback I dont hear the "plops", so i dont think its generated by JTDX, rather by the DAX software.

Any suggesting is appreciated ..
Happy to post in the mac smart sdr section of the forum if that would be a better place.

Rick DU6/PE1NSQ

Best Answer

• Mike-VA3MW
    Mike-VA3MW Administrator, FlexRadio Employee, Community Manager, Super Elmer, Moderator admin
    Answer ✓

There are a few things about this.

While in TX with JTDX, you will see the SmartSDR screen pop. This is not related to API commands being sent to the radio which you can hear in headphones.

The big question is if this 'pop' is actually bing transmitted (it isn't). To be sure, listen to your transmitted signal on a 2nd slice and see if you can hear it.

This confirms what you are reporting.

Answers

• Mark_WS7M
    Mark_WS7M Member ✭✭✭

Hi Rick,