Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Smartlink/SmartControl

I'm new to Flex. Using either one of these, I guess the slices on my 6400M have to be in the same band. I can't split them up between 2 different bands. True?

Comments

• Ted  VE3TRQ
    Ted VE3TRQ Member ✭✭✭

As long as your antenna is resonant on the two bands, you can have two panadapters each with a slice on independent bands.

• David Decoons, wo2x
    David Decoons, wo2x Member, Super Elmer Moderator

If you have a 6600 or 6700.

Or you can also have slice A on one band in first panadapter using antenna 1. Then slice B in second panadapter using antenna 2. That is assuming you have two different antennas.

Dave wo2x

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

Hi John, you can open slices on two separate bands, but as Ted indicated, they will share an antenna. You would normally want each slice in its own panadapter.

Because there is only one SCU in the 6400, having two bands open means the radio will go into "wide" mode so that both bands can be heard. Wide means that the 3rd order bandpass filters are bypassed. Not a problem for casual operating, but not really workable in a SO2R situation.

The other thing to consider is that since there is only one SCU, there is only one RF gain setting. So if you are listening on 160 and 6 at the same time (and same antenna), you will likely need to find a compromise setting.

I often put my 6400 on 10 and 6 simultaneously so that I can watch for band openings. If one or the other is open, I usually close the other panadapter to operate. Since my beam works on 20 - 6, this works well.