Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Selection of Smart SDR software for my computer

Hi. I am new to Flexradio. I purchased my 6600M one week ago, and it was delivered 3 days ago. My question: I have multiple computers on which to run SmartSDR software, but unsure about where to start. I have iMac desktop, as well as a Windows 10 machine with i3 processor, and multiple XP machines. I understand I do not need to have a computer to run the 6600M, as the screen on the front panel is fine. But when I get far enough along to run a computer with my Flexradio, I would like to know the best place to start. Also. Is a copy of SmartSDR for Windows included in the price of my radio? Or do I have to purchase the Windows version separately? I understand the Mac version is to be purchased separately, as is the IOS version, but just wondering about the Windows Version.

Best Answer

• Craig_KØCF
    Craig_KØCF Member ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

The Windows version is a free download from the FlexRadio Website. The $199 fee is only for upgrading from one major version to the next. Your just purchased radio is licensed for version 3, the latest. Note that the license for the SmartSDR software is attached to the radio, not the owner. If a new version were to be released and you have more than one Flex radio, you must purchase an upgrade for each radio.

You can freely install SmartSDR on as many Windows PCs as you like.

73, Craig, KØCF

Answers

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

SmartSDR for Windows can be loaded on as many machines as you want. There is no charge. Feel free to experiment to see which machines have enough resources to run the software.