Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flexradio Maestro hacking

2»

Comments

• KC2QMA_John
    KC2QMA_John Member ✭✭
    edited January 2020

The strange part of this is the Maestro uses a DELL Venue 8 Tablet running MICROSOFT Windows 10. So I would guess the only thing FlexRadio has legal control over is SmartSDR, but I'm no lawyer.

It's just a windows PC tablet running a special version of SmartSDR for the Maestro with some custom hardware and drivers made for it by flex. I would say hack away if you want but just don’t expect FlexRadio to support it after you make any modifications.

• Joe N3HEE
    Joe N3HEE Member ✭✭
    edited January 2020
    It wont be long until someone figures out how to hack into the M front panel.  At which point Flex will have a real winner on their hands for the experimenters out there. 

Take a look at this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfIo0R57ImA
  • KC2QMA_John
    KC2QMA_John Member ✭✭
    edited January 2020

I don't care who does the "hacking" as long as it moves the development of the radio forward at a much more rapid rate!
  • Bill -VA3WTB
    Bill -VA3WTB Member ✭✭✭
    edited January 2020
    So as I understand this,,you guys that are hoping that hacking becomes a regular thing are ok with ending all customer support? and no warranty. Am I getting that right? Explain how hacking would be win for Flex?
  • KC2QMA_John
    KC2QMA_John Member ✭✭
    edited January 2020

No Bill Hacking would just be for the experimenters that don't need or want support from flex. So if you just leave you radio stock and don’t mess with it flex will still support it.