Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

AGC-? for RTTY

Andy - KU7T
Andy - KU7T Member ✭✭
Hi, 

I read that for FT8 (in DIGU mode) I should turn off the AGC. Is that the case for all digital modes, esp. RTTY?

Thanks
Andy
KU7T

Answers

• Jay Nation
    Jay Nation Member ✭✭
    edited May 2019
    Andy

It's not always the case. Flexradios are different. Always isn't always, Always.

SDRgadgets

#FlexRadio IRC Chat

73, Jay - NO5J

• Andy - KU7T
    Andy - KU7T Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    So, what is the right setting? I am a digital beginner. All I know is CW=AGC-F, SSB=AGC-M, FT8=AGC Off, RTTY=AGC-??.  Can you explain what to use for RTTY and why?

Andy
    KU7T
  • Jay Nation
    Jay Nation Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    Andy
    It kind of depends on the band conditions, and also what works best for you.
    I'm not trying to side step your question. In general I use AGC-T fast for digital, (including RTTY) and CW. and AGC-T slow or medium for voice. There is no problem trying each to see which improves the copy. Sometimes AGC-T off works better.

SDRgadgets

#FlexRadio IRC Chat

73, Jay - NO5J

• Andy - KU7T
    Andy - KU7T Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    Ok, will try AGC-F and see how it works. 

Thanks,
    Andy
    KU7T
  • Bob N7ZO
    Bob N7ZO Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    Andy,

One of the beauties of the Flex Radio architecture is that you can put multiple slices on the same signal (each slice set to a different DAX channel), run multiple copies of your decoding software, and do direct real-time comparisons of how the different settings on each slice affect the decoding.