Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex 6600 RFkit-S network possible?

Im new to the Flexradio scene and find it fantastic. I have the 6600 on network plus a PGXL, all is fine. Im adding an RFkits 2KS amp, it has an Ethernet port. This may replace PGXL or add to the shack's 2nd antenna system.

The RFkits paper to interface to the Flex 6600 is saying I will use the USB port between the radio and the RFkits amp. I was hoping to be all Ethernet. Is this correct?

Will the RFkits amp show up on the SSDR program to control it from there? Thanks for the help on this…

Comments

• Mike-VA3MW
    Mike-VA3MW Administrator, FlexRadio Employee, Community Manager, Super Elmer, Moderator admin

For the RFKit, you will have to use the USB Port on the Flex to RS232 to the RS232 input on the RFKit. I don't think they have done an Ethernet interface yet, but you can ask on the RFKit email group as there is a lot of Flex users on it.

• NR4O
    NR4O Member ✭✭

It is possible to have the RF-Kit amp track the Flex radio frequency. But, it requires a helper application to send properly formatted OTRSP radio info UDP packets that sends the radio frequency to the RFkit. Applications like N1MM+ and FR Stack ( https://www.mkcmsoftware.com/Flex/Index ) can be used to send the UDP packets. You also will need to have a RealVNC connection that remotely displays the RFKit screen in a window on your desktop.

No need to use the USB connection to the RFKit, although that works directly with the Flex radio. No helper application required.

As Mike said, you can get more info on the RFKit groups.io forum(b26-pa.groups.io).

Eric - NR4O

• David Decoons, wo2x