Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Electret microphones with Flex6600

I'm new to the Flex and having difficult times with getting a standard 2*3,5 mm plugged headsets working with Flex6600. I am kind of puzzled whether I am doing something wrong as I fail to get the MIC -connector (on the back of the 6600) to accept standard PC electret microphones. None of the electrets I have is working that is...

I have bias on (Radio settings>Phone/CW settings) and MIC selected on the phone settings panel.

The supplied microphone (dynamic) is working ok. I am also able to use the PC -mic hooked up on the station computer.... but none of those requiring Bias directly hooked to the 6600

Any ideas on this ?

73, Ville oh1jd

Best Answer

Answers

• Villelintervo
    Villelintervo Member ✭✭
    Thanks Tim,

This worked fine, though I have difficulties to comprehend why Flex has decided to deviate from pretty much standard implementation within the computer world.

73, Ville oh1jd
  • Mike-VA3MW
    Mike-VA3MW Administrator, FlexRadio Employee, Community Manager, Super Elmer, Moderator admin

We deviated at the request of a few headset builders who felt it was time to move forward to a more common and universally available connector.

There are hundreds of CTIA headsets available worldwide that use that connector and it allows operators to not be stuck with a headset built only by 1 or 2 vendors.

As an example, I have a computer gaming headset that sounds awesome on the air. But, that is just my personal experience.

• Villelintervo
    Villelintervo Member ✭✭