Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

The Flex is a slam dunk ... for me.

Options
frc2302
frc2302 Member ✭✭

I figured since most folks only post when they have an issue to solve, it would be nice to chime in just to say thank you.

I am an IT professional whose entire life is spent on computers. I also live in a small house on a small city lot, and my "shack" is my tiny office. It turns out that the best place for a transceiver and the most comfortable place for the human are rarely the same.

On HF, I operate nearly 100% digital modes. I do not want to be tied to my desk in front of the radio, any more than I would accept having to sit in a datacenter to use my computer! I want to sit on the patio, or in the livingroom, or even in bed with a laptop, and operate my radio. The tranceiver, however, would like to be someplace cool, and as close as possible to its power source, antenna feed, and grounding ingress - such as the basement - and certainly not taking up precious real estate in my small living space.

I've spent years trying to approximate a remotely operated station with a more traditional tranceiver and the usual lashup of open source software, COM port emulators, serial and USB cables, sound card interfaces, remote desktop, blood, sweat, and tears. It kinda sorta worked (except for remote audio, which never worked). At best, it was always a second-class experience - never easy, reliable, or satisfying.