Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex Suggestion and SO2R support

Wyatt Law
Wyatt Law Member
edited November 2019 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
Hello all. I have two questions that I'm hoping some people can shed some light on. I'm new to Flex and SO2R so I'm sure these are pretty basic questions to others. :)

1. I currently have a NA4RR Hex Beam antenna. One feed line does 20-6m while there is another that goes to a 40m dipole that is the top wire on the hex. So I guess it's two antenna on one frame. I have been looking at the flex 6400 and 6600 for a while. Would it be worthwhile to go with the 6600 with only having the Hex Beam or would I be missing out on utilizing many of it's features due to my current antenna setup and it would be okay to go with the 6400? My main focus is contesting.

2.  If I went with the 6600, could I do SO2R? If I had a 40m and a 20m band pass filter, could I do SO2R with my antenna or are the wires too close to each other to even have a chance of not blowing each other out even with the band pass filters? The wires are separated by about 5 ft..Lets say that I wanted to run SO2R on 20m and 15m, would that be possible since they use the same feed line? I see that in some stations, some use a triplexer but would I have to take that out to do 17m /12m outside of contests? I am assuming that I can't just plug in the 20-6m feed line and be able to transmit on 20m and listen on 15m simultaneously or can I?

Thank you so much for your time,
Wyatt

Answers

• Mike-VA3MW
    Mike-VA3MW Administrator, FlexRadio Employee, Community Manager, Super Elmer, Moderator admin
    edited November 2019
    Hi Wyatt