Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Is this a valid method for setting AGC-T?

Options
Total newbie here, I've had my Flex 6400 for less than 2 weeks. I've seen the video and read the instruction for setting AGC-T, but they seem less than precise on getting the best result.

Yesterday, while seeing 50+ people call ZD9W in Tristan da Cunha, I had an idea. I was only hearing him at best in the minus 20's. What if I opened a 2nd slice on the same frequency , make adjustments, and compare the number of decodes and db level?

Slice A was set to AGC-T at 45 which I got from following the instructions. Slice B I took down slowly to about 15. Decodes went up in Slice B about 10 to 12%. ZD9W went from minus 20's to mid minus teens.

Certainly the increased number of decodes seems like this works. But is the increase in db real or just pushing numbers around?

I would appreciate some thoughts here, I can't believe I came up with something new or good, but if it's valid, it's a lot easier than listening for some unknown level of noise!

Bob, WA8PAM
Tagged:

Answers

• Tim K9WX
    Tim K9WX Member ✭✭✭
    Options

My experience has been that the Flex recommended way of setting AGC results in a too high setting for me. Across the board.

For FTx modes, in particular, I have had the best luck not listening to noise but adjusting AGC so that my waterfall looks like the waterfall examples in the WSJT-X user guide. Page 28 in the current version of the guide shows this:

And my waterfall just now on 40 m looks like this:

Tim K9WX

• Al_NN4ZZ
    Al_NN4ZZ Member ✭✭✭
    Options