Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Too Much power locks up PC

seanas3
seanas3 Member, Unconfirmed
I am new to Flex radio, but upon using Flex for the first time. I noticed in 40 meter band going through my matched dipole antenna. When I am outputting about 10 to 20 watts everything is OK, but the moment I increase the power to 50 to 60 watts, I get a nasty hum coming out of my speakers, and then it locks up my USB ports and is stuck transmitting, till I hit the power button on the Radio, has anybody else experiences this.

Comments

• Rich M5RIC
    Rich M5RIC Member ✭✭✭

Sounds like RF getting in to the shack, Try some type 31 ferrites round the speaker and usb cables, should help.

• Ha Gei
    Ha Gei Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2022

I also guess :

Antenna too close

Faulty connection

Unfortunate cable lentghts (( resonances )

we had something similar a while ago with high power and a bad ethernet cable

• Al_NN4ZZ
    Al_NN4ZZ Member ✭✭✭

Here are some notes on my web page when I had the RF lockup issue a few years ago.

http://www.nn4zz.com/FLEX6700.htm#RF_issues_and_solutions

Regards, Al / NN4ZZ

al (at) nn4zz (dot) com

6600 Win10 Pro V2004 -- SSDR V3.3.33

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

Hi Sean, I just had a similar problem last night on 40 CW. I did exactly as Rich suggests and put a mix 31 split ferrite bead on the USB cable from my USB hub.

I already had one on there, but when operating my 500 W amp, I discovered that I needed an additional one.