Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

**** Flex Tricks

Hi all,

TL;DR: I'm new to Flex and I'm wondering what "**** Flex Tricks" people have? What neat things can I do with my radio that only Flex can do? Have you found any non-traditional ways to operate that Flex enables for you?

Background...

I've been a licensed Ham since the mid-90s. I didn't do much Hamming in the 2k's, but had a few "Ham Adjacent" hobbies that kept me involved with Radios. During COVID I figured I should renew my Tech (which accidentally lapsed due to address changes), and then figured I'd go for General.

I got my FlexRadio (Flex-6400) about a week ago, and this thing is amazing - as someone that works in IT (Networking specifically) for the last 25 years it's everything I want Ham Radio to be. I had a moment the other night where I had SmartSDR running on my windows machine listening to 20m, while I had another SmartSDR client running on my Mac with WSJT-X running FT8 with GridTracker. So cool. As someone that dabbles with Python and such I'd like to look at playing with the API at some point, but that's for another day.

My current setup is a Flex-6400 and a DXCommander 6-80M vertical in the back yard. I also have an FT-991a with an end-fed wire antenna.

Comments

• lol ... apparently using a play on the name of David Letterman's bits gets the title censored. Maybe that's my first *Silly* Flex Trick? :smiley:
  • KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

Hi Brian, one great source is YouTube.

Mike, VA3MW, Ken, NM9P, Dave, WO2X and quite a few others have posted very informative videos about Flex radios.