Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex 6400

I am brand new to the Flex world. I noticed that my 6400 puts out about 18 watts more than the power selected. Is this an issue? Or is there some sort of calibration that needs to be done?

Thanks,

Jerry

Answers

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

Hi Jerry, what version of the software are you using? How are you measuring the power? (antenna or dummy load. internal or external meter)

If you are running 3.3.29, then I would submit a helpdesk ticket. Be sure to let them know your settings and environment (model, version, mode, RF Power setting, Tune Pwr setting, internal or external wattmeter, etc).

Is your Flex new or did you get it used?

• Jerry5219
    Jerry5219 Member
    Hi Len, Thanks for the quick response. I bought this radio used and it is about 2 years old. I am running version 3.3.29. The power is being measured with an external LP-100A meter with remote sensor. SWR is 1.58.

It seems to be only 20 meters where the power is about 18 watts higher then the power setting. Most of the other bands seem to be only about 3 to 4 watts higher. Tune power setting is 10 watts and RF power is set at 80 watts. Now the meter shows 86? Seems to have changed a bit?

I also have a Icom 7610 and I don't see any issues there

I have a HY-Tower vertical antenna with a tapped coil at the bottom.

Jerry - W7KR
  • Jerry5219
    Jerry5219 Member
    Just tried dummy load. RF power at 80 and meter shows 95.4 watts.

Jerry
  • N5NHJ
    N5NHJ Member ✭✭✭
    edited May 2022

I have the opposite issue, same radio (6400) and same firmware (3.3.29).