Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex CAT to CI-V stream

N0VD
N0VD Member ✭✭
Hi guys,

This seems like a simple question, but I haven't been able to track a simple answer. I have a Bandmaster V connected to an IC-7300 that is used to auto select my antennas by feeding it the CI-V stream from the 7300.

I want to "share" the BM V with my 6700. My thought is to use a SmartSDR CAT output via a USB-COM port cable then translate the CAT output into a CI-V stream. I would then select which radio has control of the BM 5 - either the Flex or the Icom - by toggling the stream through a relay. This way only one of the radio's stream would be seen by the BM 5 at any given time. (Only 1 radio would be active at any given time - so this is not an issue and totally different topic)

Ideas?

Kelly - N0VD

Comments

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

HI Kelly, It looks like the BandMaster V has a connection for ICOM's CIV as well as a USB port to directly plug into a Flex. If only one radio will be active at a time, can they just both be connected for the desired result? I am not sure if the two interfaces would fight for control, so this probably needs some experimentation.

At worst, it seems like just plugging and unplugging the interfaces would do it (I'm not sure how practical that would be in your situation).

• David Decoons, wo2x
    David Decoons, wo2x Member, Super Elmer Moderator

from what it looks like, if both radios are on at the same time one radio would track changes from second radio and vice versa. Band data would follow last change.

Dave wo2x

• N0VD
    N0VD Member ✭✭