Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

I am a **** victim that that can no longer manage a Elecraft K2 and I am a cw op - what to expect?

Options
CW ops please tell me of your experience with your Flex?

Comments

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator
    Options

Hi Ted, I upgraded from a K2 and a Kenwood TS-2000 to a Flex 6400. I split my operation between SSB and CW. I do a little contesting, but not much, so I would say that I am a casual operator. So from that perspective, I love my Flex (and have become very dependent on the panadapter). I will say that my CW speed has moved up lately because I have been using the radio so much. I got a very fast computer, not because the Flex needs it, but because programs like CW Skimmer need it. Using CW Skimmer for fills lets me work faster CW which has really helped me improve.

So maybe the next question is, what is important to you in a CW transceiver? What aspects of the K2 do you not like? Not every radio is for every ham, so depending on what you are looking for, the Flex may or may not be for you, although most of us who try them keep them!

Len, KD0RC

• na7c
    na7c Member
    Options
    I had to send the K2 to Elecraft recently to get it aligned properly and I no longer have the dexterity to get inside and perform adjustments or build adapter boards. I love my K2. I wanted a panadapter but the K2 requires an external board which I can no longer maintain. The Flex is designed for Panadapters and can align itself. What worries me is I've heard that CW ops shy away from Flex.
  • Lionel
    Lionel Member ✭✭✭
    Options