Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Return CW Sidetone to remote user using SmartCAT and SmartDAX

When remote and using a logging program to send CW, I do not receive any audio feedback or sidetone. This feedback is essential to know when sending is occurring that it is sending properly, an when it has stopped. I do not need it to be "real time" to allow paddle or bug sending. But as a remote operator I need some feedback of the CW sending to operate properly.  I submitted this as a bug report#40651 and was informed "The radio software is operating as currently designed.  ... your support request is technically a product enhancement or change request." OK, l request a enhancement or change, please.

Mark Aaker K6UFO

5 votes

Open for Comments · Last Updated

Comments

• Lou KI5FTY
    Lou KI5FTY Member ✭✭

short term workaround would be to use a winkeyer with sidetone...

• Hi Lou, I think you are suggesting adding a winkeyer with sidetone at my operator location?

That would not help me as a remote operator to know when the remote transmitter is sending, sending properly, and has completed sending. That information needs to come from the transmitter over the remote connection to the operator.  E.g, the logging program may be keying the winkeyer, but the transmitter could be OFF, and I wouldn't know unless I get a returned signal from the transmitter.

Thanks, Mark K6UFO 

• Tom OK1DWQ
    Tom OK1DWQ Member ✭✭
    Please to vote, maybe somebody from flex will accept to do it... if interest of it most peoples only
  • Asher - K0AU
    Asher - K0AU Member ✭✭