Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

6000 TX audio distorted after being on for a few days.

Hugh - VA3TO
Hugh - VA3TO Member ✭✭
edited November 2020 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series

I have a Flex 6300 running SmartSDR v3.18 that I mostly use for remote operation on digital modes (FT8, MSK144) so I leave it on 24-7. After a few days I have to reboot the radio because the TX audio becomes distorted just from sitting there being on. This isn't a new problem, I've been putting up with it since I got the radio 3 years ago (even under v1 & v2 software) and but it has become annoying enough that I would now like to resolve it.

FTR the radio was sent to Flex about a year and a half ago so it has been through their tests with no faults found.

Has anyone else observed this ? Try leaving your radio on unused for a few days then attempt to use it on a digital mode while paying attention to the TX audio.

I know enough about software to be dangerous and this seems like a stack or other buffer overflow to me. Is Flex aware of the problem and are they working on a fix ?

Hugh VA3TO/ NA3TO

Answers

• Walt
    Walt Member ✭✭

I have experienced the same thing for the same amount of time. Finally sent in a trouble report over a year ago along with some on-air WSPR results showing that when it went distorted, remote stations would report me two or three times in the same time segment with carrier frequencies about 30 cycles apart. Flex gave me a ticket number starting with a 7xxx that I long ago threw away since I got tired of the 'reboot' solution and have moved on. I now use the 6500 I bought in 2014 only as a spare receiver.

Good luck

Walt

• bahillen