Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

operating remotely

Arnold Goldman
Arnold Goldman Member ✭✭
still learning with my 6600M with the maestro; do I have to leave my radio on to operate remotely? tnx I'm still learning

Comments

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator

Hi Arnold, that is the easiest option, but you can also buy a WiFi connected remote switch that works over the internet to remotely power up your Flex. That does mean keeping your power supply running or using a remote switch to power on and off the supply (making sure that the remote switch is powered separately...). In my case, I bought a "Smart Controller - 4CH" model SANT-4ch for around $20 from Amazon. I use one channel to remotely power on/off the Flex 6400 and the other three channels to switch among 3 antennas. I connected the remote switch to an antenna switch kit I got on ebay. I can use my cell phone to control the power to the Flex and to select among the antennas. The app is eWeLink and runs on my Android phone. I believe they have an Apple version as well.

I think that the remote switch is rated to switch 120 V and maybe 240 V (not sure how much current), but I think I would add relays before switching mains power with it. I do not power on and off my main supply. If I am going to run remote, I just leave it on.

Len, KD0RC

• tnx i have the kassa remote switch but that works fine at home; love the radio used to running boatanchors (collins, efj, old yaesu 1000D ) so this is all new to me tnx ; ill try to just leave in on; i assume it doesnt burn the screen and unplug the mike, TNX
  • now i get the following screen says no internet but bottom left says it is connected??