Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Flex remote operation with rotor control

Burch - K4QXX
Burch - K4QXX Member ✭✭
I have been operating with a StepIR vertical for the last several years.  It is very easy to setup for remote operation with my Flex 6700.  I am about to put up a Force 12 C3 beam on my tower.  I currently have an old tail twister rotor that is on it's last legs.  I'd like to update to a new rotor that can be remotely controlled.  What are some of you using for rotor and remote control.  I was thinking about replacing the Tailtwister with a Yaesu rotor.

Burch
K4QXX

Answers

• K1UO Larry
    K1UO Larry Member ✭✭✭
    edited June 2019
    Hi Burch,  I am using a Yaesu 1000 rotor with the Green Heron Engineering Everywhere software for direction control.  I turn the Yaesu rotor control unit itself  on/off using a Web Powerswitch 7 ethernet controller for 8 AC outlets.  My particular setup requires a PC at the remote but I see 4O3A has a rotor control smart unit that is directly ethernet controlled.
  • Ken - NM9P
    Ken - NM9P Member ✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    I have been using a Yaesu G-800DXA and the E.R.C (Easy Rotor Control Mini DX) which is a small box with USB on one end and a six pin DIN on the other that connects directly to the rotor. Using the program PSTRotatorAZ I can control by computer locally, or remotely via computer, tablet, or web interface. Very nice. The E.R.C. I’d a little over $100, and PSTRotator is about $30-$35. A great deal!
  • bahillen
    bahillen Member ✭✭✭
    edited June 2019