Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Is there any open source code that can grab the RF signal data across a slice of a 6500?

Steve
Steve Member
edited April 2019 in SmartSDR for Windows
Hi! I am also very new to TCP and UPD and can't seem to find the particular commands to extract a frame of the RF spectrum.  I do know a little bit of Python but not a C programmer. I am trying to capture frames of RF data across a span of frequencies.  Once I get to this point,  I am home free.  Unfortunately, getting to this step is a killer!  Is there anyone who knows an open source code (python preferably) that will grab the RF data across a define slice of data?  Thanks.

PS.  I am currently using SmartSDR v3.0.19 on Windows.

Answers

• Mark WS7M
    Mark WS7M Member ✭✭
    edited April 2019
    Hi Steve,

I guess I'm wondering what you mean by a "frame of the RF spectrum".

There are two things that might be of interest to you:

1) The radio can give you a packet of data which is essentially the line you see drawn on the pan adapter.   You must set your program as a gui client then you must tell the radio how big (H and W) your radio is.  You will get back a packet of data (over UDP) in Vita format which is basically the points to draw the pan adapter line.

To make sense of that line you will need to query the radio for the max/min dBm of the pan adapter then you create some scaling factors that turn the Y point value into a dBm value.

For X you need to know the min/max frequency of the pan. You can again get this from the radio.  Then in a similar fashion you can create a scaling factor for X.