Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

6600M - SSB vs. CW amp drive level

Andy - KU7T
Andy - KU7T Member ✭✭
edited January 2020 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
Hi,

Sorry, if this is a rookie question. I am a SSB rookie :-)

I know about PEP vs AVG power and the 2.5dB gain of CESSB with the PROC ON. I have an Elecraft W2 watt meter, and find its PEP mode does not really work well. 

I do not know exactly how to set my output power to drive my solid state amp in SSB (or to set it any differently from CW). In high duty cycle modes like CW, all is easy. All I do is put a carrier out, adjust to what I want to go out (i.e. for 1.5kW I set SmartSDR to 29W out). My question is how to do this in SSB. 

Do you simply keep the SmartSDR drive level at the same point where you would set it for CW or do you increase it a bit? I am asking because when I do that my watt meter shows 100-400 watts in SSB, and as I do not trust the PEP feature on it, I am looking for an easy fire-and-forget solution. Also, I do try to keep my MIC gain high so the peaks are at the end of the yellow just below red.

Thanks and 73
Andy
KU7T

Answers

• Bill English
    Bill English Member
    edited January 2020
    If you need 30 watts to get 1500 out, you adjust it in CW, and simply switch the mode to SSB and talk. I do not have a different setting for SSB and CW. I control my amp via DDUtil and it allows me to set an AMP1 and AMP2 drive levels for each band via the PC to the amp. I have amp one set for full output and I have amp two at about 1/2 power to use in RTTY. 

• Mark WS7M
    Mark WS7M Member ✭✭
    edited March 2019