Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Set Power Level By Antenna or Slice Rather Than Band on 6600M

Al Dewey
Al Dewey Member ✭✭
edited February 2020 in New Ideas

Please, please add a feature in a future release that allows you to set power level by Antenna or Slice rather than by band on the 6600M.  I am an SO2R operator and sometimes use a 500 Watt Elecraft amp on ONE slice and no amp on the other slice.   So ANT1 from FLEX goes thru the amp to one side of the WXOB Six Pack switch.  ANT2 goes directly to the other side of the Six Pack with no amp. 

I typically run on one band and S&P on the other.  There are times, for example, when I may want to run on 20M with the amp (on ANT 1)  and S&P with low power on 40M on ANT2.  So I would have the power for 20M set to 35W (to drive the amp) and the power for 40M set to 100W for ANT2.  If later on, I want to run on 40M with high power and S&P on 20M with low power (for example), I have to manually turn the power down on 40M AND turn the power up on 20M.  If you change band combinations a lot during a contest (which I do), it is easy to forget to keep adjusting the power up and down.  The result is that you either overdrive your amp (causing it to trip) or you end up outputting 30W or so on a band that rather than the full 100W.

If you could simply assign power level to either the ANT (1 or 2) or Slice (A or B) and save it with your profile, it would solve this problem.  I just finished the CQWWRTTY contest and I can’t tell you how many times I either tripped the amp  because the input power was too high or discovered I was calling guys with only 30W. Frustrating.

Al, K0AD

Comments

• Robert Lonn