Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

6400 vs 6500

Hello all, newbie here.  I am interested in the 6400 and have seen the specs on the Flex website.  I see that there was a previous model, the 6500, that was apparently discontinued.  I guess I am confused about why a newer model has a lower number designation, and what the difference in features are.  I have found a spec sheet on the 6500 but it is hard to compare the two models because the different spec sheets list different specs and there is no place where they are compared side-by-side.  I see where they are offering a refurbished 6500 for $1000 more than the 6400.  Is this a pretty good deal or is there something about the 6500 that makes it obsolete or soon to be obsolete?

Answers

• Bob K8RC
    Bob K8RC Member ✭✭✭
    edited March 2018
    The original lineup, bottom to top was 6300, 6500, 6700. The 6300 had a lower spec SCU (Spectral Capture Unit)  than the other two units. the 6500 had a single higher spec SCU the 6700 two SCUs.

In the new lineup 6400=upgraded 6300, 6600=upgraded 6500 and the 6700 is still king.

So the total "spectrum" of 6000-series radios, from bottom to top is:
    6300,6400,6500,6600 & 6700. The M variants essentially include a Maestro console as a front panel.

There are other differences but that's the basics.

• Brian Morgan VK7RR
    Brian Morgan VK7RR Member ✭✭
    edited June 2020