Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Temperature and fan speed Flex 6500

Tom K3TF
Tom K3TF Member ✭✭
edited April 2017 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
I have a Flex 6500 I have been using on CW for about 3 months. Running vs 1.10.16. I run 100 watts into a low SWR antenna.

Typical CW transmission 5 minutes on, 5 off, I run 30 to 35 wpm. Using DDUtil before transmission the internal temperature about 10 degrees F higher than the room. Shack typically at 70F. Flex at 80F. As I send CW the temp rises to about 125F during a 5 minute transmission then cools down over 5 minutes to about 90F than repeats up to 125F on next 5 minute transmission. Fans do not change speed as far as I can tell. 

1. Is this typical?

2. Are there any specs on when the fans will increase speed at a specific temperature?

3. Are the fans supposed to increase speed?

4. At what temperature will the Flex 6500 fail or stop transmitting?

Thanks for any information.

Tom
K3TF.....

Answers

• K9DUR
    K9DUR Member ✭✭
    edited March 2017
    The fans switch to high speed when the PA temperature reaches 70 deg C (158 deg F).
    -- 73, Ray, K9DUR
  • Tom K3TF
    Tom K3TF Member ✭✭
    edited March 2017
    I should have read more before sending this out.

The two internal fans on the chips are constant speed all the time.

The two large fans on the front sides are 2 speed. Low all the time and they switch to high speed when the PA temp reaches 158F or 70C. 

This was from information a couple years ago. My guess is this still the way it works.

Rig works great. Just trying to figure everything out.

Tom K3TF.........

• Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin