Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Internal noise on mic input Flex 6500

Bill K8WLK
Bill K8WLK Member
I have been operating my 6500 for about two weeks. I am new to the radio. The following is with no mics connected to the transceiver. I have noticed if you key the transmitter using the bal input in the rear of the transceiver with no modulation the system is totally clean and noise free. I have noticed if you switch to the mic input and key the transmitter without modulation you can hear a small amount of internal noise. I believe I have selectively shut down all items in the shack to eliminate external sources. Has anyone experienced this phenomenon?

Answers

• Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin
    edited March 2017
    Bill - This behavior has been previously reported.  It is due impart to the front panel mic input being an unbalanced microphone input.  The rear XLR/TRS input is a balanced audio input and is less susceptible to inducted noise due to differential signaling.  Therefore if possible, it is always a best practice to use a balanced input in RF "rich" environments if possible.
  • Bill K8WLK
    Bill K8WLK Member
    edited May 2016
    Thanks much Tim....Great Radio!
  • Kevin Wallace
    Kevin Wallace Member
    edited September 2014
    I experience this same behavior with my 6300. I've never heard this much noise on the MIC connector from any radio I've ever owned. I am currently using the ACC connector to transmit audio and it doesn't appear to exhibit this behavior, but I would assume the noise I'm hearing on the MIC connector is NOT normal. Hopefully it can be cured with a software update!
  • Tom