Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Transverter for aircraft band?

Mark_WS7M
Mark_WS7M Member ✭✭✭
As a long time pilot I would be interested in finding/building a transverter that could receive the aircraft band:  118.0 - 137.0 AM.

Any recommendations on a transverter that would/could work?

Maybe "transverter" is not the right term here as I really don't want to "transmit" on the aircraft bands...   "receiveverter?"

I do realize I could probably just buy a radioshack scanner but whats the fun in that!?  I want to use my new 6500!!!

Mark

Answers

• L.Kubis
    L.Kubis Member ✭✭
    edited August 2019
    Mark, have a look at the SDR-Play SDR now being sold by HRO for $150. It's ideal for listening to the aircraft band as well other portions of the spectrum as it covers 100Khz to 2 Ghz.
    Mine on the 2m band measured around 0.25uV sensivity.

I use SDRSharp freebie software for this band with good results. Simon Brown's SDRConsole on HF 
    and HDSDR elsewhere.

Great little RX for the money!

Lloyd
    VE3ERQ
  • Greg - K5GJ
    Greg - K5GJ Member ✭✭
    edited February 2017
    Mark - if you just want to play, you can take the 10MHz reference from the 6500 and do a x10 to get to 100Mhz. Then use a VHF mixer and run the radio "IF" at 18 - 36MHz. Finally feed the front end through a BPF for aircraft band. You can probably score these components on Fleabay or at www.minicircuits.com. Now as Lloyd said, the SDR may be cheaper but this is a great way to get started in VHF xvtr design. Yell if you need more details. 73, Greg - K5GJ
  • Doug Hall
    Doug Hall Member ✭✭
    edited November 2015