Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

SmartSDR for Linux

Walt Corey
Walt Corey Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in New Ideas
Putting a face and a date to SmartSDR for Linux. I am very excited about the 6000 Series, from the moment I saw it at Boxboro, MA two years ago this summer. I was, however, under the impression the 6000 series would be OS agnostic. Clearly not so, it still requires Windows. I've been a software developer for the last 40+ years, I haven't professionally done Windows in 14 years. I have a Windows VM here for the sole purpose of TurboTax...and now xxxSDR. If its manpower that is the holdup I will offer my services to move Smart SDR to a truly agnostic framework or something very close to it. I, and others, would really like to see this happen and rather than hoping someone else has it tasked I offer myself as a resource. I'd really like to see some movement on this. If this falls into NDA status, I am ok signing that.

Walt Corey - KZ1F

Comments

• Tim - W4TME
    Tim - W4TME Administrator, FlexRadio Employee admin
    edited May 2017
    Walt - your assumption is incorrect.  The radio is OS agnostic.  In addition to the SmartSDR for Windows client, there an iPad control surface app (client) by K6TU.  The radio is controlled via TCP/IP so any OS that supports a TCP/IP stack has the ability to communicate with the radio.  If you are offering to work on a Linux client, then you will want to to get the SmartSDR API, by contacting Steve (steve@flexradio[dot]com) and requesting it.
  • Walt Corey
    Walt Corey Member ✭✭
    edited April 2014