Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Shouldn't my amp switch bands as I switch slices?

Options
Newbie here, just got my Flex 6400.
It works great with 2 slices, 2 WSJT-x, 2 JTAlert, and 1 instance of Gridtracker.
The only unexpected behavior is that my amp (KPA500) doesn't switch bands as I switch slices by clicking or double-clicking on a slice. Shouldn't it?
Also, it seems to default to one slice ie on 1 slice it will switch bands as I transmit then switches back to the other slice when on Rx. Shouldn't it stay on the Tx slice?

Answers

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator
    Options

Congratulations on your new rig!

The KPA 500 will follow the radio. There are two RS-232 ports on the amp, one goes to your PC and the other goes to the Flex 6400. You need a true FTDI USB to serial cable and you need to configure the cable.

Plug in the cable to the amp, then go to Settings, USB Cables... Select the cable which should have come up in the window, and click the Edit button. Now you can name it and set its type to CAT. Auto-Report should be Enabled.

Now click the Advanced arrow and set the RS-232 parameters as shown below.

I'm not sure that I understand the second issue. Do you by any chance have SPLIT selected?

• rah50
    rah50 Member ✭✭
    Options
    Thanks Len, but I guess I didn't explain my issue well. I have the KPA500 integrated properly, it works perfectly with 1 slice.

The issue is using 2 slices and there are 2 parts to problem:

1: Should the amp switch bands whenever I switch slices by clicking on a slice?