Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Kuhne TR432H & TR144H +40 /w 6600M

ka9ees
ka9ees Member ✭✭✭

I am currently using an Icom IC-9700 for satellite work. I just made a deal on this pair of transverters. They were used with a 6600M before. They are coming bare i.e. no sequencing relay or USB devices.

What do I need to get started with them?

2m preamp is an SHF 144VOX 70cm is an Icom AG35.

Best Answers

• Butch
    Butch Member ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Ed - I have some experience with the SatPC program, (and many years prior to that, the NOVA for Windows tracking program). Both do the pretty good job. What caused me to change my mind about using the Flex for my satellite operation is the CSN Technologies S.A.T. Interface. In case you're not familiar with this product, all its software is fully self contained so there's no need additional satellite tracking software. The S.A.T. Interface controls the radio, Yaesu G5400 or G5500 or G5600 Az/El rotators, corrects for Doppler Shift, provides for easy KEP updates, and it also provides numerous graphical tracking views as well.

Don't get me wrong, by no means am I knocking the Flex, it's great, but I've shifted to using my Flex and Transverters for terrestrial work, and leave satellite operation to my IC-9700 and S.A.T. device.

If you haven't taken a close look at the operation of S.A.T. device, see the video below:

(This video is about year old. SInce it was posted on Youtube CSN Techologies has sent out several (free) software updates which has added even more features.)

Butch, KF4HR

• Mike-VA3MW
    Mike-VA3MW Administrator, FlexRadio Employee, Community Manager, Super Elmer, Moderator admin
    Answer ✓