Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

New CW operator question

Options

I have a Flex 6400 and I am just starting my CW explorations. I have been reading the forums and I have drawn some conclusions I would like to run past the more experienced operators.

For learning and rag-chewing with CW, using the built-in keyer and CWX should be fine. If I need easy macro buttons, I can use CWX. If I get serious about contesting with CW, I can look at using an external keyer. Am I reading things correctly? Remember that for now, I am a slow speed operator.

Thank you for the time and comments,

Brent, VA7BNB

Tagged:

Best Answer

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi Brent, An external keyer does not bring much advantage over the internal keyer. Most contesters use a logging program that has CW macro capability like N1MM or N3JFP's AClog.

As you gain experience and start participating in contests, you will see where your preferences lie. These preferences will take you to the solution that is optimal for you. If you constantly wish that you had external buttons to push for messages, then an external keyer might be the right thing for you.

On the other hand, if automatically sending the other station's call sign is important, then a logger with that capability will be the way to go.

Answers

• VA7BNB_Brent
    VA7BNB_Brent Member ✭✭
    Options

Thanks Len

You have confirmed my readings. I was getting too deep, too fast.

Brent, VA7BNB

• Stan VA7NF
    Stan VA7NF Member ✭✭✭
    Options

Welcome to Flex Brent, from a long time BC CW contester and 6700 owner.