Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Mixed Reality Headsets

Of late I have been thinking about Mixed reality headsets.-- I just put this post on a FaceBook group on a lark. We'll see what transpires. My last Flex radio was a 6300 but the TS-990 siren call was too much to resist. Though I enjoyed my Flex experience. But I'm thinking the next "big thing" in Ham Radio is being discussed right now down there in Austin. ( I am a UT Austin grad! laughs) ---- My Icom Group FaceBook Post below

The mash-up image below is not "official" But it could be in the near future. I'm betting that Icom or *Flex Radio* will be the first Ham radio manufacturers to adopt Mixed reality glasses as the primary interface to a Black Box HF rig. No "Knobs", no "Scopes", "No Buttons" No flashing Lights" The AR / VR glasses below are Magic Leap 2's released this year- There is little technical reason NOT to introduce this interface to Ham radio. Microsoft just signed a $20 billion for their Mixed reality "Holo Lens" headset for Army and Marine infantry. Apple's coming Mixed reality headset may well transform many devices. It couldn't come fast enough for me. Mike WA4D

2 votes

Active · Last Updated

Comments

• VE7ATJ_Don
    VE7ATJ_Don Member ✭✭✭

So, a couple of more 'practical' issues here:

a) how would you select a frequency to listen to? 'Look' at it?

b) built in microphone? where?

c) CW keying???

d) how to adjust various filters, bands, etc.?

Just sayin... doesn't really look that practical to me.

Leave a Comment