Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

K6TU Remote - Sneak Preview

Stu Phillips - K6TUStu Phillips - K6TU Member ✭✭
edited June 26 in New Ideas




Here is a short video as a sneak preview of the new iPad app I'm working on - K6TU Remote - for full remote control of the Flex-6000 series radios over LAN and WAN (Internet VPN required with adequate performance).

Some likely questions and related answers...

What does the App work on?
The app works on the Apple iPad.  Testing is still in process but its likely that the app will require Apple Metal (graphics engine and GPU) for adequate performance.  This probably means an iPad Retina or more recent unit.  The software works on an iPad Mini but performance is not acceptable to me.

When will the App be available?
Probably in a couple of months - all the heavy lifting is done but I want the UI experience to be uncluttered, natural and easy to use.

Will there be an alpha/beta version?
Yes - but all the alpha and beta test slots are already committed - sorry.

Will the App be free?
Free?  Like in free ****? No - there will be a "lite" version of the App which will be a free download from the App Store but it will only support receive operation and a single slice.  The full function App will be available for purchase on the App Store at a price higher than the current K6TU Control App.  The final price is still being debated.

Describe the App
K6TU Remote at the first release will support a single pan adaptor (with waterfall) and a maximum of TWO slices.  You will be able to make CW and Phone QSOs - there is no digital support for modes like PSK, RTTY etc although you can use this App in parallel with SmartDAX & SmartCAT running on a computer.  It is likely that there will be no CW sidetone at the first release - you will see the CWX typed characters change color as they are sent.  You will NOT be able to use SmartSDR at the same time as you are using K6TU Remote - the current radio firmware supports a single GUI client at a  time.

Will the be an Android version of K6TU Remote?
No.  I don't have the cycles to be able to support Android devices - sorry.  However, there are others working on GUI apps for Android as you can see by searching the Community.

But I have many more questions! :-)
Alas GrassHopper I have used today's quota of answers.  Answer rationing is in effect here in California so tomorrow doesn't look too good either... ;-)  I will do my best to answer questions but I'm in the coding process and working like fury to get the alpha out to the testers so please excuse me if the answers aren't by return.

Thanks for looking and hope it whets your appetite!
Stu K6TU

PS: The waterfall renders really nicely but looks a little washed out in the video.  I will post some high res video stream captures when I have time.
«13

Comments

  • Lee - N2LEELee - N2LEE Member
    edited February 2017
    Stu, EXCELLENT  Job !  It is so refreshing to see the work you are doing for the iPad.
    I can't wait. :)

    Lee
  • George KF2TGeorge KF2T Member ✭✭✭
    edited May 8
    Nice! WAN remote when v 2.0 hits, too?
  • Stu Phillips - K6TUStu Phillips - K6TU Member ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    WAN remote NOW using the VPN solution I described. I will of course add v2.0 WAN support when FlexRadio releases it. I made two QSOs today from my office remotely to my radio. Worked great as the SoftEther server supports the iPad native VPN support. No additional software required. Woot! Stu K6TU
  • Steve W6SDMSteve W6SDM Member ✭✭
    edited July 2015
    Fantastic.  I have the iPad app now and use it a lot.  Having direct control is really nice in a contest.  I am really looking forward to this app.  Program faster.  :)


  • edited July 2015
    Very nice! Congratulations and well done. I might have to get an iPad after all!
  • Jay -- N0FBJay -- N0FB Member ✭✭
    edited December 2019
    Looks great Stu!  The only thing that I can offer is that (in my estimation) the Pinch In and Pinch Out functions should be reversed for zooming in or out. 

    Great job Stu!   I can hardly wait for the completion and release.

  • Lee - N2LEELee - N2LEE Member
    edited December 2016
    Jay, I thought it was just me but it seemed backwards as well.
  • Doug - K3TZRDoug - K3TZR Member
    edited October 2018
    Very nice Stu, you've obviously been busy. I can't wait to try it out.
  • WA6FXT MikeWA6FXT Mike Member
    edited June 2017

    Stu,


      I'm sold (If I can afford it and the Maestro)!

      Very nice job, so far.

    73's de Mike


    PS: I also think the pinch is backward. (It just feels more natural to have the display move the same way as the fingers).


  • K6OZYK6OZY Member ✭✭
    edited May 8
    Will this be an upgrade to the existing app or a new app entirely?
  • W5UN_DaveW5UN_Dave Member ✭✭
    edited February 2019
    Stu, looking mighty good (as I would expect)!
  • Sergey R5AUSergey R5AU Sergey Member ✭✭
    edited April 2017
    Stu, as usual, you did nice app. !
  • I0JBL - LucI0JBL - Luc Member ✭✭
    edited December 2017
    Congratulation Stu. Very nice app. Another step forward in the FRW (Flex Radio World)
    73 Luc

  • KY6LA_HowardKY6LA_Howard La Jolla, CA. Paris and Sablet FranceMember ✭✭✭
    edited January 2017
    Just showed your video to the OK1 DXpedition crowd in Prague. Everyone is excited.
  • Ian1Ian1 Member
    edited May 1
    Very Slick Stu

    Ian
  • KD8TVBKD8TVB Member
    edited July 2015
    Stu please take my money :)
  • Stu Phillips - K6TUStu Phillips - K6TU Member ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Chris,

    This is a new App and K6TU Control will continue to be used for radio control in conjunction with SmartSDR.  The two apps are intended for different purposes.

    Stu K6TU
  • Alan - KA4BAlan - KA4B Member ✭✭
    edited May 8
    Stu, the finger pinch seems counter intuitve.  On my MacBook Pro opening the fingers magnifies the screen and closing them make the object look smaller.  Do you have the option of reversing the way the gesture works?  Very nice, BTW.
  • Stu Phillips - K6TUStu Phillips - K6TU Member ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Alan, With the the same comment now from several folks, I will reverse the effect. It's just a simple matter of programming :-). Shouldn't be too difficult. I appreciate the feedback on this feature! I want this app to be uncluttered and very easy to use so these feedback a especially at this stage really help. Stu K6TU
  • Lee - N2LEELee - N2LEE Member
    edited December 2016
    Stu, one option that might be helpful and still accomplish your goal of keeping the app uncluttered is to create a hotspot for the left and right side or top left and right corner.

    By touching a hotspot it would slide out addition controls or instructions on the touch commands.

    For Example: Touching the right border would slide out a panel and activate the keyboard so you can enter the frequency directly and/or other functions.

    If you need any GUI or graphics help let me know. I would be happy to create a few screen mock ups.

    Lee
  • Andy F5VAIAndy F5VAI Member
    edited June 26
    Stu You have my support; much appreciated as always.
     
  • Stu Phillips - K6TUStu Phillips - K6TU Member ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Lee,

    Do you have my office bugged? ;-)  What I'm implementing is very similar to your comment:
    • Swipe from the left side of the screen to present the transmitter controls
    • Swipe from the right side to present the receiver controls
    • Swipe down from the top for miscellaneous controls like disconnect, setup
    • Tap on the heads up display to get direct frequency input
    • Hot spot on left side of screen to get quick access to display controls
    At least that is the current plan.

    CW operation will be a little different with the presentation of a CW specific keyboard and an area for type ahead/see what you sent.  I'm still thinking about exactly how this will be presented as it will need most of the screen given usable finger sized "keys". 

    Stu K6TU

  • edited March 2018
    As a user of your current iPad, Flex Control app, I look forward to purchasing and using this new app
    as well.
  • KY6LA_HowardKY6LA_Howard La Jolla, CA. Paris and Sablet FranceMember ✭✭✭
    edited July 2015
    Stu When I remote via Bluetooth headset to my iPad , I tend to prefer to use VOX rather than a MOX button when feasible Be great if one had both options.
  • Lee - N2LEELee - N2LEE Member
    edited December 2016
    Ooops did I accidentally reveal that I work for the NSA. Darn I hate when happens. LOL

    Sorry no bugs just a keen sense of understanding on how valuable limited screen real estate is and whats involved in implementation. Every pixel on a screen is valuable and most people do not realize when you have a list of 20 features and functions that when you implement or move one that affects the 19 other controls. :)
  • Stu Phillips - K6TUStu Phillips - K6TU Member ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Howard,

    VOX already works and will have controls to turn it on as an option.  I had also hoped to use the button on the Apple supported remote control (the audio controls on the earbuds, head sets etc) but alas that's not looking possible.  Seems that Apple doesn't want the functionality of that control being over ridden from the audio player.

    Much to my chagrin...
    Stu K6TU
  • G4IUAG4IUA Member ✭✭
    edited February 2017
    Great to see this add-on in development.  I use the K6TU Control App but having (almost) full remote operating capability on an iPad would be a wonderful addition to the setup.  Good for FlexRadio and hopefully some pennies towards Stu’s time and troubles!

     Jeff – G4IUA 

  • Robert -- N5IKDRobert -- N5IKD Member ✭✭
    edited July 2015
    I have already pre-ordered. ;-)

    I hope the radio chooser includes the Nickname and / or the callsign. At Field Day this year we had two 6700's and we did not have our serial numbers memorized.
  • K6TDK6TD Member
    edited December 2016
    This app is going to change Ham Radio. 73, K6TD
  • Dale KB5VEDale KB5VE Member ✭✭
    edited May 8
    Once again you have knocked it out of the park. I want to set my truck up for remote as soon as 2.0 is out although I might goahead and do it with your set up you posted. But I really wanted to use the iPad. The main thing we need is a hard ptt for Mobil blue tooth head set or wired headset is fine and vox is fine but a ptt is required.

    The statement about which pad will work is disappointing ing since I have a ipad2 and if it was stolen out of truck or damaged it would not hurt. I do not wish to run multiple slices mobil so is this a definite that I will need to upgrade?

    Also will the flex knob be able to interface with the ipad?

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.