Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Can anyone provide a FreeDV API HowTo?

EduardoCarvalho
EduardoCarvalho Member ✭✭
edited March 2020 in SmartSDR API
I have watched the videos on the API release and I am very interested in giving the Internal Waveform API freeDV example a try. I am not a software developer, but I know my way around a bit. Based on the presentation, it sounded simple and just a matter of loading the compiled file into the correct folder in the radio. However, I have not been able to figure out how to do it so.

I have looked on the wiki, forum and other locations without success. Can someone please provide some directions on how to access the file structure in the radio and load these programs made for the internal API?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Answers

• Bill - K7UOP
    Bill - K7UOP Member ✭✭
    edited October 2014

Eduardo, From what I have found there are no compiled files available at this time. And I don't have any idea if the developers of the FreeDV example plan to provide them. The only thing currently available is the source code. I guess they are providing this to other developers as an example implementation of the Waveform API.

I agree with you that it would be nice if they did provide the binaries (compiled files) that could be installed by users. I have the feeling though that Flex Radio developers will have to first create the underlying infrastructure and a radio Add-On Software Installation Program. I doubt they would want to open up access to the underlying Linux OS in the radio to users.