Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

SmartSDR & 6300

K6NOK- Bill
K6NOK- Bill Member
edited June 2019 in SmartSDR for Windows
Received the 6300 a few days ago. I'm brand new to SDR radios. The 6300 installed very smoothly and was up and running in no time. Certainly is a big change from my Kenwood TS-590. Although in a "Shoot out" on 40 meters I'd have to say that the TS-590 receiver seems slightly more sensitive, with a little better signal to noise ratio.

I've been learning SmartSDR and I do have a question about it. It seems like there isn't very good control of the RF gain and the AGC on the receiver using SmartSDR? The only controls that I see for these functions is in the receiver panel on the right side of the screen there is a selection for "Fast, Med, Slow, Off" .....I assume that is the AGC control? if so, don't really see much difference when selecting these ??? There is a slider control next to that which seems to control the RF gain?? Doesn't seem to work very well controlling the RF gain of the receiver. Also I don't see any kind of selectable attenuator for the receiver front end? All of these controls are something I'm looking for to make the radio more "Listenable" and reduce the noise and static when listening to the receiver. The bands have not been very good lately and noise levels are high, this seems very hard to deal with, with the 6300 and SmartSDR.  Am I missing something here?
Thanks for any help. W6BWS - Bill

Answers

• Dale KB5VE
    Dale KB5VE Member ✭✭
    edited January 2017