Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

questions about remote operation

Options

I have been using a Flex 6700 since 2019 and love it. I recently set it up for remote operation and have a few problems with both SmartSDR for PC and Mac that I would appreciate some help with.

With SmartSDR for PC I get this panadapter:

I can tune around with the FlexControl and have made an FT8 contact, but cannot see the signals. Any help would be appreciated.

I have some questions about the SmartSDR for Mac once I solve this one. Thanks for your help!

Ed K5YZW

Best Answer

• KD0RC
    KD0RC Member, Super Elmer Moderator
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi Ed, for the mic, it will use the default recording device on your computer. I often just use the built in mic on my laptop. I recommend setting up a mic profile for remote and one (or more) for home station operation so that you retain your mic settings for each situation.

Make sure that you have PC selected as the mic source and enable PC Audio. Also make sure that DAX is off. To key the mic, click on the MOX button. You can also set up a CAT port to be PTT if you want to build a cable for it so that you can use a physical switch. FRStack3 software allows you to set up hot keys to make things easier.

To key CW, I recommend going to the RemoteKeyerInterface io groups forum: (https://groups.io/g/RemoteKeyerInterface/topics)

Here you will find info on building a simple interface and on setting up a CAT port to take the key input. There is a companion program that runs to key the rig and give you a CW sidetone.