Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

My experience using RM Noise with FlexRadio

Options
psundquist
psundquist Member
edited January 4 in Third-Party Software
I wrote a detailed blog article on my experience using RM Noise with my Flex. It's not perfect and it has limitations, but WOW. http://www.bitofsnow.com/2023/10/20/ai-noise-suppression-is-an-amateur-radio-breakthrough/

Comments

• Trucker
    Trucker Member ✭✭✭
    Options

Interesting blog. I have been testing RM Noise for a couple of months now. As you stated, it works extremely well. The only Noise Reduction I have heard and used that I consider better , is the noise reduction in Thetis for the Anan radios.( and also available for the Hermes Lite radios) It is all client side processing and latency is extremely low compared to RM Noise. To me I would rather have a client side application doing the processing independent of having to use an off site server to process the audio. As more users use the server (s) ,latency will increase. For now, it is quite acceptable. Not only that, should the system go offline for any reason, then you are back to using the default system in your radio. It could be as problematic as when SmartLink started having issues. The Noise Reduction in Thetis using Dr Warren Pratt's WDSP library is proof that good, reliable noise reduction is possible without having to use AI and an internet server to provide good audio. The algorithms used in WDSP library are well known. ( proven back in the late 1980's) Flex Radio just has to decide to make the commitment to improve the DSP functions in SmartSDR. None of us should have to resort to using a 3rd party application, much less, AI