Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Python interface to FlexLib API

Mark Erbaugh
Mark Erbaugh Member ✭✭
edited February 2020 in New Ideas
Is anyone aware of / working on a Python interface to the FlexLib API? This would be quite useful. I'm a competent Python programmer, but haven't dabbled in .NET.
2 votes

Open for Comments · Last Updated

Comments

• N7BCP
    N7BCP Member ✭✭
    edited July 2017
    The Flex libraries should be compatible with IronPython.
  • Bill - K7UOP
    Bill - K7UOP Member ✭✭
    edited October 2014

I remember when I was working with Python on the Raspberry Pi (uses a variation of Debian Linux) that .NET libraries are available. Don't know how extensive they are but would be worth looking into (maybe you already have (?).

Python compatibility might open up some apps on those smaller platforms.

• Mark Erbaugh
    Mark Erbaugh Member ✭✭
    edited February 2020
    I've not worked with .net, but I found a ,net add-on for Python. The examples showed how to interact with Office. I'm guessing it wouldn't be that hard to use the Flexlib API. I assume that the C++ code would have to be compiled into a DLL, or is that DLL already part of SmartSDR? I've not worked with Iron Python, but that's another option. The thing about standard Python is that there are so many add on libraries and some aren't fully compatible with Iron Python. Martin Ewing published a Python based for the Beable **** in a recent QST. It would be nice to be able to integrate that with Flexlib.
  • Mark Erbaugh
    Mark Erbaugh Member ✭✭
    edited February 2020