Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

How to use FlexLib API IQStream?

Kyle Gagner
Kyle Gagner Member
edited February 2020 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
Hello, I am trying to figure out how to use the IQStream object to get raw IQ data from a Flex radio using the FlexLib API. I need some general guidance on how to use the API, which doesn't seem to have much documentation. I can figure out the specifics. I have a lot of C# experience and I have worked with .NET hardware APIs in the past. Part of my problem is that I do not fundamentally understand the exact functions of many of the objects in the API. I believe I will need to call CreateIQStream on my radio object to get an IQStream object, add a delegate to the IQStream object to handle the DataReady event, and call RequestIQStreamFromRadio on the IQStream object to begin receiving data. A few things confuse me: 1. Why do I have to give CreateIQStream a DAX channel? My understanding is that DAX is a technology for passing data streams by using virtual Windows audio devices. With the FlexLib API we should be avoiding DAX altogether, so what is this? Where do I get that number? 2. How do I set the frequency I am receiving on? My understanding of the radio is that it uses a digital downconversion to take a selected portion of the frequency spectrum down to baseband, and that the hardware responsible for this is an FPGA slice. Is this correct? Then, why is it when I create a slice in the API that I must specify a demodulation mode? All I want is IQ data. The slice, however, does have a frequency setting, so I think I do need to create a slice object. I'm just guessing at this point though. 3. Possibly unrelated t