Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Is a Winkeyer even necessary?

KT8DX
KT8DX Member
I'm new to the Flex Signature Series world, having bought a 6400 a few weeks ago.  I am a casual operator and want to get more into CW contesting using either HRD or N1MM.  I've used a Winkeyer 3 with my other radios, but with the Flex I'm not really sure it is necessary, unless I'm missing something.  

Can I configure SmartSDR to do what I would do with the WinKeyer, or should I go ahead and hook it up.  Pros and cons would be most appreciated.

73s de KT8DX

Answers

• Mark_WS7M
    Mark_WS7M Member ✭✭✭
    edited March 2019
    Hi,

WinKeyer support is built into the SmartCat interface/SSDR.  You can configure a SmartCat port to look like a COM port that accepts the WinKeyer protocol.  N1MM can talk to that directly.

That being said I have heard of a few people having some issues with it.  Search these forums for WinKeyer and SmartCat.   For me it has worked very well.

Mark
  • K9DUR
    K9DUR Member ✭✭
    edited March 2019
    I agree with Mark.  I use N1MM+ when contesting.  I created a port in SmartCAT that emulates a WinKeyer & tell N1MM that that port is a WinKeyer.  Works great.  I have had no issues.

73, Ray, K9DUR
  • Ria
    Ria Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2019
    “It depends.”

CWX is the built in CW keyer. As mentioned there is winkeyer emulation in CAT. You can also use CATASC commands in N1MM and other software.

For casual use I just use CWX. For contesting I use the winkeyer. An external winkeyer may be valuable from a reliability perspective.
  • Duane_AC5AA
    Duane_AC5AA Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2019