Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

DM780 with Digimaster CW keying

AB9UU
AB9UU Member ✭✭
edited October 2018 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
I have a Digimaster ( www.g4zlp.co.uk/unified/DigiMaster_CW.htm ) CW Keyer I want to use with my Flex 6500 and DM780.  I just can not get the settings or connections right.    DM780 recognizes it right and will  key in some situations but no power is generated and the amp will go into an"on" mode but again no power output.  Is anyone using this device successfully with the Flex 6500 who can tell me their set up settings and connections to see what I am doing wrong?  I am getting close but still missing something.

Answers

• Al K0VM
    Al K0VM Member ✭✭✭
    edited November 2017
    To key CW with the 6000 radios, you must have a hardware connection to one of the the Key inputs on the radio.  ( there is on DTR/RTS or data cw input at this time ). And you will want to turn off Iambic..

See 'related conversations' in this community.

AL, K0VM
  • Stan VA7NF
    Stan VA7NF Member ✭✭✭
    edited February 2017

I have been bugging Flex about DTR/RTS keying.  Still waiting for the "Nothing but Net" solution.

There is a very simple (two component) diagram in the N1MM Serial, Parallel and Sound Card Interfacing PDF.  See http://n1mm.hamdocs.com/tiki-index.php?page=Getting+Started&structure=N1MM+Logger+Documentation in section 4.4 "Using a transistor". 

It works connected to pins 4 & 5 on the rear auxiliary socket.  It does require a cable from the computer serial port to Flex so they must be adjacent.

• Al_NN4ZZ
    Al_NN4ZZ Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2016
    Hi Al,