Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

WSJT-X Advantages of Setting up multiple instances each with unique panadapters and Slice?

Jerry NY2KW
Jerry NY2KW Member ✭✭
edited June 2020 in SmartSDR for Windows
I have read several posts that recommend setting up WSJT with a different configuration file for each band where each configuration has its own panadapter and unique slice?  What are the major advantages of this - seems a bit complex and not obvious whats to gain.  I have been using WSJT-X on my 6700 for a few months and changing bands seems a breeze using the band dropdown box in WSJT-X and my 6700 remains in DIGU with all the settings staying the same.  I must be missing something bigger but as a WSJT-X newbie it is not obvious.  Can anyone help explain?

Answers

• Duane_AC5AA
    Duane_AC5AA Member ✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    I guess if you're into watching lots of bands at the same time this might be useful, but then you'll have to have multiple instances of WSJT-X open and running at the same time as well, I'd think.  One band at a time is fine wtih me.  Now if I could only find a way to force it to call DIGI-U mode instead of USB I'd like that better.  l
  • Neal Pollack, N6YFM
    Neal Pollack, N6YFM Member ✭✭
    edited December 2018
    One example benefit is visually seeing, at the end of the day. When people migrate from 20 to 40m.
  • Rich McCabe
    Rich McCabe Member ✭✭✭
    edited December 2018