WSJT-X Advantages of Setting up multiple instances each with unique panadapters and Slice?

• Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
I have read several posts that recommend setting up WSJT with a different configuration file for each band where each configuration has its own panadapter and unique slice?  What are the major advantages of this - seems a bit complex and not obvious whats to gain.  I have been using WSJT-X on my 6700 for a few months and changing bands seems a breeze using the band dropdown box in WSJT-X and my 6700 remains in DIGU with all the settings staying the same.  I must be missing something bigger but as a WSJT-X newbie it is not obvious.  Can anyone help explain?

Photo of Jerry NY2KW

Jerry NY2KW

• 20 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

Photo of Duane, AC5AA

Duane, AC5AA

• 416 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
I guess if you're into watching lots of bands at the same time this might be useful, but then you'll have to have multiple instances of WSJT-X open and running at the same time as well, I'd think.  One band at a time is fine wtih me.  Now if I could only find a way to force it to call DIGI-U mode instead of USB I'd like that better.  l
Photo of WX7Y

WX7Y

• 629 Posts
  • 114 Reply Likes
Hi Duane,  mine auto changes to DIGU I think what I did in 
WSJT was to go to File, Settings, Radio,  then under MODE select up "Data/Pkt".
YMMV
73's
Bret
WX7Y
Photo of Duane, AC5AA

Duane, AC5AA

• 416 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Thanks, Bret - I'll check on doing that.  Appreciate the assist!
Photo of Neal Pollack, N6YFM

Neal Pollack, N6YFM

• 178 Posts
  • 81 Reply Likes
One example benefit is visually seeing, at the end of the day. When people migrate from 20 to 40m.
Photo of Rich McCabe

Rich McCabe

• 1077 Posts
  • 226 Reply Likes