Why would someone buy one of these radios? I don't know anything about them! What do you guys do? How do these radios help? Thanks!

• Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
 I don't know anything about these thing! Why would you buy one of these? What do you guys do? How do these radios help? Why this specific brand? Thanks! Tom.
Photo of Tom

Tom

• 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

Photo of KC2QMA_John

KC2QMA_John

• 781 Posts
  • 326 Reply Likes
SPAM ALERT!
(Edited)
Photo of Tom

Tom

• 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Actually, I'm a writer looking to gain insight into this industry for a client. Not spam! 
Photo of spopiela

spopiela

• 82 Posts
  • 10 Reply Likes
whose your client?
Photo of Tom

Tom

• 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Not a competitor. Far from it infact. Unfortunately I can't say. 
Photo of Alan W4FBI

Alan W4FBI

• 267 Posts
  • 31 Reply Likes
Google is your friend. Look up Ham Radio Operators, Software Defined Radios, etc
Photo of Tom

Tom

• 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Google is my friend, but I'm looking for insight from customers themselves
Photo of Mark - WS7M

Mark - WS7M

• 1338 Posts
  • 501 Reply Likes
I might add:

Ham Radio is a hobby.  Most of us do it for fun.  It is a significant investment both financially and in personal effort to be involved in the hobby.  You must be licensed.  To be licensed you must pass some tests.

The radios allow us to connect and communicate over the air in many different ways.  Distance of communication is virtually unlimited.

Many ham radio operators use their skills and radios to pass emergency information.  This is being done right now for many of the hard hit hurricane places.  The messages are usually about health and well being and sometimes can connect the remote party to a relative when phones and internet are down.