What role does SmartSDR CAT play with respect to setting up third party applications like HRD?

• Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
Setting up SmartSDR to interface with third party software like CW skimmer and Ham Radio Deluxe has been a nightmare for me. I am new to the flex series and not too savvy with computers. I think I understand the basic concepts but i am still not too sure. I had all sorts of problems installing com0com under windows 10 and got several errors resulting in an incomplete installation. I would like to expand on the capabilities of the radio (flex 6500) but am getting pretty frustrated! Can anyone help me out? A real newbie here...
Photo of Tony C kc2dis

Tony C kc2dis

• 79 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
  • confused

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of KY6LA - Howard

KY6LA - Howard, Elmer

• 3784 Posts
  • 1637 Reply Likes
First ...Remove Com0Com  - you do not need it...

SmartSDR CAT creates all the virtual serial ports you will need and it is much better and easier to use than Com0Com

Second... Install DDUTIL - it will act as a traffic cop for your band data to feed things like HRD Logbook, SteppIR Antennas, Wattmeters, Rotors and Amps.

HRD - is totally redundant.. Not sure why anyone would want to use it if they are using SMARTSDR which does everything that HRD does much better than HRD plus you have a Panadpter

I personally use HRDLogbook which is quite good.. runs very well without HRD as long as you use DDUTIL to connect SmartSDR to it..

For CWSkimmer - the traffic cop program is SDRBridge - DDUTIL can also be the traffic cop - but I think SDRBridge does a better job

BTW.. Windows 10 is a nightmare which will continue to cause you problems for the next couple of years until Microsoft finally debugs completely.

For a newbie you will be much happier with a Windows 7 system which is stable...

Hope this helps
(Edited)
Photo of Tony C kc2dis

Tony C kc2dis

• 79 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes