v3 on ssdr and face of radio ?

• Question
  • Updated 9 months ago
Just wont to know if I will be able use slice A and B on the face of my 6600M and SSDR at the same time ?  If not I am out !
Photo of FRED  W9TB

FRED W9TB

• 166 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes

Posted 9 months ago

Photo of K3SF

K3SF

• 302 Posts
  • 99 Reply Likes
hi fred..

caveat
i have no special knowledge of V3...

so any thing i say is speculation but is an educated guess 
but
since i own a 6600m and have played with it quite and various s/w my response is based
more on that and simple concept of multi-client in a client/server architecture

scenario#1...
1 - two clients log into the 6600m...
2 - each client is assigned the ability to request two two slices.

3. Client #1 ( front panel of 6600m) requests a slice on 20m and one on 30m...
4. Client #2  ( SSDR on pc) requests a slice on 20m and one on 30m...

At this stage it is not clear if one or two SCU's are being used as antenna selection has not been specified at this point. And SCU selection does indeed complicate the scenario.

In this scenario each client only has freq/mode/filter control of their requested slice
BUT
no control over the other clients freq/mode/filters...
AND
antenna selection and preamp settings done by one client may or may not affect the other client as SCU selection is done by the radio and not directly by the clients. Note, the radio works that way today when 4 slices are used by single client and i assume this has not changed

so the hard part of all this is resource allocation and hardware interactions (i.e.  SCU, Preamp, ANT) and the addition of a resource manager to the architecture to coordinate it all.

so the answer to your question is, i believe it will do what you asked.. two slices on front panel and two slice in ssdr and they can be the same band/mode/filter but dont control each others freq/mode/filter....

once again this is my speculation and how a multi-client-server architecture may work in the radio.