Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

Using a Heil Proset Plus Headset with a Flex 6400M

Jay W5IB
Jay W5IB Member ✭✭
edited April 2020 in New Ideas
Hi everyone. I just received my Flex 6400M on March 13, 2018.
I have been using Flex radios for 10 years and have always used a Heil headset with dynamic cartridge. So it was no surprise that I wanted to use my Heil ProSet Plus on my new 6400M.
I looked at the schematic and saw that I would need to make or buy an adapter to make my headset work. I found one on line that would isolate the tip and ring and bought it. When my new radio arrived, I had a hunch that I would not need the adapter, so I went into the menu and made sure the Mic bias was turned off. I plugged the mono 3.5mm plug into the mic jack on the 6400M, and just like magic, it worked !!! 

NO ADAPTER WAS REQUIRED !!!!!!

I just plugged the heil into the mic jack on the radio and away we went.

Let me know your experience.

Comments

• Wayne
    Wayne Member ✭✭
    edited June 2018

Until you posted this I hadn't even considered trying my Heil Proset since I had setup the HM-12 mic after purchasing the adapter. I plugged the phones in and then plugged the mic in for the Heil Proset with the following settings:

Bias-Off

+20db

Mic Gain I ended up reducing from 68 I was using on the HM-12 since I was further away from it when I spoke to 54 on the headset where the mic is right there at my mouth.