Trying to conceptualize my remote setup for new 6300...

• Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
I just got email confirmation that my new 6300 shipped!

I have been operating remote for 5 years now, mainly from my home, with a Kenwood TS-480 and Remote Rig.  I utilize a Ubiquiti 5.8GHz internet bridge to span the 4 statute mile LOS path between my home and my tower and antennas that are located on a hill.  When at home, I am on my own LAN, everything is on the same subnet, and I don't have any humanly detectable latency.

I currently have a serial Y cable that provides band data from the TS-480 to my Tokyo Hy-Power HL-1.5KFX amplifier and SteppIR controller.  From what I read on here, the same functionality can be provided with a Windows computer running DDUtil.  Is DDUtil a standalone software or do I need SSDR running on the same computer?

Is the functionality likely to exist in the near future for my 6300 to provide band data directly to the amplifier and SteppIR controller without the need for a computer?  The reason I ask this question is that I could temporarily leave the serial Y cable connected from the TS-480 to the amp and SteppIR controller and connect the coax from one of the antenna ports on the 6300 to the amplifier.  Of course, this would require me to first tune the TS-480 to bandswitch everything before transmitting with the 6300 through the amplifier/tuned SteppIR.

Any other advice would be very much appreciated.

Terry, NZ5E
Photo of NZ5E

NZ5E

• 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

Photo of Larry Benoit

Larry Benoit

• 63 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes

Hi Terry,

I've been patiently awaiting the enabling of the dual USB ports on the Flex 6000 series for control of  accessory equipment.  I'm afraid that support may not be coming anytime soon.