Welcome to the new FlexRadio Community! Please review the new Community Rules and other important new Community information on the Message Board.
If you are having a problem, please refer to the product documentation or check the Help Center for known solutions.
Need technical support from FlexRadio? It's as simple as Creating a HelpDesk ticket.

transmitting off frequency

Ken - VE5KC
Ken - VE5KC Member ✭✭
edited April 2017 in FLEX-6000 Signature Series
Flex 6500 transmitting off frequency from receive frequency in SmartSDR.

I've had this happen a couple of times but most recently with SmartSDR v1.4.16.

I got reports of very high pitch screechy audio but it was found later that I was not transmitting on the receive frequency.

I was a bit slow here but ... I'm still new with my 6500. I missed it at first but it was obvious, right before my eyes, I could see that my TX frequency was low compared to the receive frequency on the spectrum display. This was on 40m LSB. We checked and confirmed I had the same problem on USB.

I upgraded to SmartSDR v1.4.16 earlier in the day and worked  a bunch of station on 20m with no complaints/comments on my signal. The problem did not occur until I switched to 40 meters later in the day.

I tried a few thing, not really sure what to do. Shut down SmartSDR and restarted a few times but nothing helped.

The final step .. a factory reset on the radio.

This fixed the problem. 

Any idea what has caused this?  Something corrupted in the radio?

Comments

• Sergey R5AU
    Sergey R5AU Member ✭✭
    edited April 2017
    Ken,
    just from the UM (usually helpfull every time with upgrade/downgrade):

Release notes:
    FLEX-6000 Not Performing Well after an Upgrade to a new Version of Firmware